Train Wreck

This week has been hard. Mister is still home. Every few days he gets ready for work and leaves but he comes home early. I don’t know if he’s really working. Most days, he doesn’t get out of his pajamas. He just watches T.V. and wanders around the house. He is constantly asking me what I’m doing.

In the past, when he knew I was working, he would quit his job. I don’t know if that has happened again. He ignores me when I ask about work. There isn’t anything that I can do about it of he has quit again, except feel irritated for days on end.

My youngest daughter has been a huge source of worry this week. She told me that she has been talking to a boy online for about a year now. He is in this country on a student visa. She says that she is in love with him and plans on moving to California to be with him. He wants to marry her.

She just turned 18 and is still in high school. She can’t take care of herself but she thinks she is grown enough to go 3,000 miles away, marry a boy she has never met in person and live happily ever after.

She gave him my number and he texted me for about an hour. I disliked him immediately. He wants to travel here next month to see her for a week. He told me that he intends to have sex with her while he is here. He also told me that his parents do not like her (even though they have never met her) because she is white, rather than Mexican. This boy is so disrespectful, I wanted to reach through the phone and slap him.

If he marries her, he can stay in this country. If he doesn’t, he has to go back to Mexico when his visa runs out. I’m sick to my stomach just thinking about it.

I told Mister about it. He is as unconcerned as a person can be. This is his child. His youngest daughter and he just doesn’t care. Is it any wonder that she is looking for affection in the wrong places? I’m not sure what to do about it. How do I protect her? I feel like she’s running straight toward danger but she can’t see it.

I did the same thing when I married Mister. I didn’t see the danger. I’m still paying for my blindness. I don’t want the same for my child but I don’t know how to stop it. My life is a train wreck.

Leave a Reply

