The Jig Is Up

Two weeks. He has been home almost every day for two weeks. He is over my shoulder most of the time wanting to know what I am doing. “What are you writing?” Nothing. “Who are you talking to?” No one. “What are you reading?” Nothing important.

I think he’s on to me. By that, I mean that I think that he knows that I have been squirreling away money to leave him. He has asked our daughter if I am looking at houses. She told him no.

He noticed that our daughter keeps getting packages in the mail and wants to know how her orders are being paid for. I told him the truth. She edits photos for people online and buys what she wants with her own money. He said that he doesn’t believe me.

A few days ago, I got in the shower and when I got out, there were kittens that I had never seen before. He had snuck five more in the house. When I asked him where they came from, he said they had been abandoned. They looked healthy. I will never know the truth. I have come to the conclusion that he thinks that as long as there are kittens for me to take care of, I can’t leave. I started finding homes for the ones I had. So he brought more home.

This afternoon, I walked out to my Jeep to go pick my daughter up from her friend’s house. The driver side door was open and my hood had been dented. Last night, I locked it and set the alarm. There is only one key to my Jeep. It was in my purse.

Since the Jeep started right up, I knew the door had not been hanging open all night. I went inside and confronted him. He denied it. He said that someone must have broken in. He made a big deal about going outside to check for himself. He popped the hood and examined the engine. He tried, unsuccessfully, to pound out the dent with his fist. He stood with his hands on his hips and shook his head at the mess inside of my Jeep.

I asked him, “Why do you think someone would come way out in the country, magically disarm my alarm system, magically unlock the door, push the seat all the way back and then pull everything out of the glove box and scatter it all over my Jeep?” He said, “I don’t know. People are crazy.”

I’m pretty sure that he got into my purse while I was sleeping this morning and took the key. I think that he thought that he would find evidence of my savings in my Jeep. Maybe a bank statement or a deposit slip that he could confront me with. He found nothing. Then he took it out on my hood.

He either decided that I could clean up the mess and deal with the damage or he was in a rage and spaced cleaning up the mess, closing the door and resetting the alarm system. He did think to drop my keys back in my purse.

Tonight, he told me to double-check that I had locked my Jeep and set the alarm, as though he were concerned. It wasn’t him though. It was some crazy person who is talented enough to disarm alarm systems. Someone who is crazy enough to completely ignore the $40,000 phallus parked two feet from my $3000 Jeep. That person must have been nuts!

I need to be more careful with what I am doing. He can’t know that I am working. I am just thankful that I don’t keep any evidence of my savings. I am also thankful that my daughter was so insistent that I put a password on my phone. Online banking is a great thing.

I’m beginning to think that he has been home so much because he is afraid that I am leaving soon and he needs to be able to control that situation when it arises. I can wait him out. I’m more patient than he is. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

